Omakase

Sushi.  For me that word once conjured images of a relaxed environment where I could eat one of my favorite foods.  Raw fish, rice, seaweed, wasabi.  I have loved sushi for as long as I can remember due to its delicate simplicity, enhanced by the contrasting flavors of soy and wasabi.

edit 2-2483 (Large)

But I just learned what sushi can truly be thanks to Omakase at Shiro’s in Seattle.  I don’t say that lightly.  This was a vitally important moment in my life and it brings tears to my eyes.

What is Omakase?

Ordering Omakase means that you must give control of your taste buds to a chef that has mastered the art of a genuine food experience.  You must do so willingly and completely, but once you get that out of the way the adventure begins. 

edit 2-2482 (Large)

You probably think that I’ve lost my mind, and I can assure you that this is the correct assumption.  Eating at Shiro’s was easily the most mind-blowing food experience I have encountered.

When I die this moment will pass before my eyes:

Four friends sitting at a table together.  Served by a skilled Japanese waiter that is engaging and informative, yet humble.  The energy oscillates as dish after dish of the freshest fish imaginable is served.  Red Snapper, Yellow Tail, Halibut, Salmon, Fatty Tuna, Geoduck, White Tuna, Uni.  More.  Each so distinct and exquisite.  I pick up the pieces with my chopsticks and place them in my mouth.  So clean and light.  Some taste buttery while others are more pronounced.  But they are all delectable.  I catch the chef’s eye, smiling in appreciation.

edit 2-2480 (Large)

I cannot express the gratitude that I have to the chef at Shiro’s for the experience that he provided us.  I love the fish, the ocean, the chef, his ancestors and my wonderful friends for giving me a moment to remember.

Sushi.  That word now makes me tremble with delight.

edit 2-2485 (Large)

The red shrimp tails you see in the photo above were taken away and deep fried.  The picture below shows them cooked.  If you’ve ever eaten soft shell crab, this is a similar experience.  Took me a moment to get used to the idea, but then I couldn’t help but eat every last bit!

edit 2-2489 (Large)

(We went for Omakase at Shiro’s two times.  All pictures are from the first experience and aren’t the greatest quality because it’s hard to get a good shot when you’re ridiculously excited.  We chose not to take the camera with us the second time.)

6 thoughts on “Omakase

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Pingback: Tamari | The Pittsburgh Diaries

  3. Pingback: Tamari | Words and Spice …

  4. Pingback: Tamari « ginger KEG

Leave a Reply

