Grilled Tomatoes Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Sage

While searching for something different to grill alongside chicken and asparagus one evening I came across this recipe on Epicurious for Grilled Tomatoes Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Sage.

edit 2-9631-2 (Large)

And since the Memorial Day Weekend is all about grilling I wanted to share what I think is one of my top five favorite tomato recipes of all time.  I served these over a bed of arugula as suggested, drizzled with balsamic vinegar. 

While this recipe is perfect it took me two tries to get the sage leaves right.  The first batch turned out bitter from being overcooked, but the second batch was just right.  For some reason I also forgot to add the fresh sage to the feta mixture, but these were so delicious I don’t think I missed it.

The chicken we grilled was from Central Market and already marinated in a Garlic Pesto sauce.  I wrapped bundles of grilled asparagus with prosciutto and topped them with a caper vinaigrette and fresh-grated parmesan – much like this wonderful Bobby Flay recipe.

edit 2-9639-2 (Large)

It was a very simple meal and everything was easily put together while the grill was lit.  If you’re looking for simple, but impressive sides to serve alongside grilled steaks this weekend I would certainly recommend these tomatoes and asparagus.

One thought on “Grilled Tomatoes Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Sage

Leave a Reply

