Caper Conversion

I only recently found out how much I love capers.  For years I ate them, but never went out of my way to do so.  If they happened to be in a dish … I would eat them.  And that was it.

I don’t recall exactly what I was eating when it suddenly struck me that capers are really yummy!  Something just clicked and my taste buds were happy.  Then I made an even better discovery:  Cooking capers brings out a whole new level of deliciousness.  Eureka!

img_8555-large

The other day my jar of capers was staring at me from the refrigerator.  I kid you not.  It was like thousands of little green eyes staring at me from behind the glass.  When they suddenly shouted “Eat Me!”

I decided it was time to make Chicken Piccata.  Since I’d never made it before I searched the internet for some guidance.  I found a basic recipe here and then made a few adjustments.  This is what I came up with:

2 Skinless Boneless Chicken Breast Halves, pounded to ¼” thick

3 tablespoons Butter, separated

3 tablespoons Flour

Salt, Pepper & Cayenne, to taste

4 Garlic Cloves, minced

½ cup Chardonnay

¼ cup Fresh Lemon Juice

¼ cup Capers

1/3 cup Chopped Fresh Parsley

Lemon Slices

Cracked Black Pepper and Fresh Grated Parmesan

½ pound Fettuccine, cooked

Please give me a moment to express how much I enjoy cooking with wine.  I’m typically a red wine drinker so when a recipe calls for white wine I get a little bit excited.  It’s the perfect excuse to leave behind my normal routine and try a wine I never would have purchased.  Plus, I get to drink wine!

Alright, thanks for giving me my moment.

After pounding the chicken I mixed together the flour, salt, pepper and cayenne (I’m heavy-handed with the spice).  I coated the chicken with the flour mixture and then heated half of the butter in a large skillet.  I cooked the chicken on each side for a few minutes and then placed it on a baking sheet in a warm oven.

img_8526-large

Using the same pan I melted the rest of the butter and added the garlic.  Once it started to turn the slightest bit brown I added the wine and the lemon juice.  Oh yeah, we had some serious steaminess occurring here!  Using a spatula I scraped up all of the lovely bits of chicken that were left behind (to be more technical … I deglazed the pan) and then added the capers, letting everything bubble for a few more minutes.

img_8458-large

I placed the cooked Fettuccine on our plates and then topped it with half of the sauce and most of the parsley.  Over that went the chicken and more sauce.  The final touches were a slice of lemon, some cracked black pepper, a little bit of fresh grated parmesan and the rest of the parsley.

As you can see we took photos while we cooked.  We tend to get pretty silly with the camera and on this occasion just couldn’t keep our world in focus (please refer back to the paragraph about cooking with wine).  Once the food was on the plates we could hardly be bothered with such trivial things as photography.  We had hungry stomachs to feed!

One thought on “Caper Conversion

Leave a Reply

