Three Bean Vegetarian Chili

I love a good bowl of chili.  My favorite bowl of red is the Bison Chili my boyfriend has spent hours perfecting.  His chili is strictly Terlingua style … no beans.  Somewhere in our kitchen he has stashed these illegible notes that have been revised over and over again. No one can comprehend what they say, but every time he decides it’s time to make another pot the notes appear out of nowhere and he creates the most amazing, spicy chili you could ever imagine.

And yet … every now and then I crave a meatless chili. I’ve played around with different recipes in the past, but on Sunday I struck gold. Something about the combination of spices and beans worked beautifully.

img_8300-large

Of course – I didn’t measure out any of the ingredients (nor did I keep chicken-scratch notes), but this is what went into my chili: 

Onion

Garlic

2 Poblanos

2 Fresh Chopped Jalapenos

2 Chipotle Chiles in Adobo

Small can of Chopped Green Chiles

Celery

Carrots

Fire-Roasted Crushed Tomatoes

Beer (Coors Light)

Black Beans

Cannellini Beans

Red Kidney Beans

Some Insane Combination of multiple Chile powders (New Mexico blend, Ancho, Habanero, Chipotle, etc)

Salt

Pepper

I’ve been enjoying the leftovers for lunch this week!

Leave a comment